Annotated Bibliography #1

It begins…

I will likely just run down my research log document in the order in which I found the articles. This means a lot of them will probably not be hugely useful to my thesis as a great deal of time was spent just trying to figure out what I actually needed and what was related to my work I am doing. Over the coming weeks we should see me start to hone in on specific terms and ideas that lead to more and more strings of fruitful inquiry.

I don’t know if I’ll be posting these daily, or save up a few, or who knows what else. I know that I will be reading and annotating an article a day, 5 days a week, however. So expect to see a lot of these posts. Maybe they’ll prove useful to someone else?

Anyway, the podcast will be up this week. I also have a ko-fi account, so if you want to fuel my writing with coffee please consider buying me a cup.

One more note: Please ignore the lack of hanging indents on the MLA 8 citations on these posts as hanging indents seem to be a pain to do in WordPress.

Anyway, on with the show…

Hsu, Shang Hwa, Jen-Wei Chang, and Chun-Chia Lee. “Designing Attractive Gamification Features for Collaborative Storytelling Websites.” Cyberpsychology, Behavior & Social Networking, vol. 16, no. 6, June 2013, pp. 428-435. EBSCOhost, doi:10.1089/cyber.2012.0492.

This article, published in Cyberpsychology, Behavior & Social Networking, covers a study that identifies gamification features in websites designed for collaborative storytelling. The study used a combination of interviews and an online survey of over 6000 users of said websites. This study resulted in a the development of a list of 10 highly attractive gamification features out a total of 35. This was one of the first articles I found combining the ideas of interactivity with storytelling that I found, and overall I can see some use in it. While I want interactivity in my creative thesis, this article is concerned almost entirely with collaborative communities. My thesis is more driven by the immediate interaction between the reader and writer as opposed to a larger communal storytelling effort. 

Gamification isn’t quite what I am aiming for and is different in some regards to “Interactive Fiction” (IF), yet elements of game design practiced in gamified websites might prove useful. In particular the study breaks up three larger, overarching design components that other design elements factor into; these three are “achievement[s],” “interpersonal relationship[s],” and “role playing.” Of the three role-playing is likely to be the larger area of concern relating to my thesis.

Overall, while interesting, the article does not have a great deal to do with what I am doing in particular. This was one of the first articles I dug up as I began my research, and while it hits on the idea of interactivity regarding storytelling, the tune is off as it focuses more on “gamification,” which, of course, sent me down a rabbit hole of unrelated ideas until I found the term I truly wish for, which was interactive fiction. If my thesis were about building a community website where users work together to solve a mystery of some sort then this article would be highly useful as it has specific, listed techniques and tools for adding game-style features to a community to encourage interactivity.

Leave a Reply

